7 Quick Takes Friday – July 6

Please join me and other Catholic bloggers at Conversion Diary for 7 Quick Takes Friday.

1. Feast of St. Maria Goretti
Today is the Feast of St. Maria Goretti. I grew up attending a church named for this saint and I’ve always been fascinated by her story. St. Maria Goretti refused to submit to her rapist (which led to her death) but this refusal led to her rapist’s conversion.

2. LifeSiteNews
I’m still receiving notes about LifeSiteNews’ recent article about my third novel, Stealing Jenny. Again, special thanks to Pete Baklinski for this wonderful article. Since the article was posted last week, I’ve had over 500 Kindle downloads and many print orders.

3. Husband’s Retirement
My husband’s first week of retirement from teaching (in fact, first day) was spent taking care of me last week as I was suffering from a bad case of the flu. Thankfully, I feel much better. Since the weather has been sunny and clear, he’s been spending more time in his new kayak.

4. Stealing Jenny Kindle Edition Only .99!
Stealing Jenny Kindle Edition has been lowered to .99 for a limited time only!

5. Many Hands Make Light Work

Cartoon copyright James and Ellen Hrkach

6. Exhibition a Success!
The opening reception for my husband’s exhibition was a great success! My husband sold a painting but, more importantly, the people seemed to love his art work. He’ll be returning to the gallery on July 21st, to give an art lecture: “I would like to speak about my 30 year endeavour to discover the many levels of meaning in art and specifically to unite content and form,” says Hrkach. “I was never happy with only representing or merely expressing emotion, focusing on media use or obsessing with geometric rules of composition. It seemed to me necessary to see how they could all relate…how they could collaborate.” For more information, check this link.

7. St. Gertrude’s Prayer
One of my favorite prayers is “St. Gertrude’s Prayer.” Our Lord told St. Gertrude the Great that He would release 1000 souls from Purgatory whenever we say the following prayer: Eternal Father, I offer You the most Precious Blood of Your Divine Son, Jesus, in union with the Masses said throughout the world today, for all the Holy Souls in Purgatory, for all sinners everywhere, for sinners in the universal church, those in my own home and within my family. Amen. More prayers for the Holy Souls in Purgatory can be found at this link.

For more Quick Takes, visit Conversion Diary.

Photos and text copyright 2012 Ellen Gable Hrkach

11 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes Friday – July 6

  1. Pingback: 7 Quick Takes Friday – July 6 | Catholic Canada

  2. Pingback: Sunday Snippets – July 8 « Plot Line and Sinker

  3. Great list! Love that prayer of St Gertrude. AND the cartoon is great. Congrats on lifesitenews article! Awesome!

  4. Pingback: Sunday Snippets – July 8 | Catholic Canada

  5. Congratulations to your huband for a successful exhibition and retirement. :)

    I *love* the St. Gertrude prayer. I’ve gotten the habit of praying it during the elevation of the precious blood at mass. We can never pray too much for the souls in Purgatory.

  6. There’s a lot to celebrate in your takes. St. Maria Goretti’s death and the conversion of her attacker shows how God never lets a good death go to waste! Loved your cartoon and the prayer to St. Gertrude. I have a holy card with that prayer on it and try to remember to pray it at the end of the Divine Office.

  7. So glad your husband’s exhibition was a success, Great way to start retirement. Also glad your feeling good again!

    St. Gertrude’s prayers hangs from my dashboard so that I pray it often during red light stops.

  8. Thanks so much, Barb and Joann! Barb, I agree that St. Maria Goretti’s death and the conversion of her attacker shows that God never lets a good death go to waste! That’s one of my favorite parts of her story…

Leave a Reply

