7 Quick Takes Friday – July 27

Please join me and other Catholic bloggers at Jen’s Conversion Diary for 7 Quick Takes Friday.

1. 33 Years!
Today is the 33rd anniversary of my husband and my first date. I know my husband doesn’t keep track of this “anniversary,” but…well, I do. It’s hard to believe it’s been that many years.

2. Great Adventure
We’re down here in New Jersey visiting with relatives. Special thanks to my sister-in-law, who took three of my kids and her own kids to Great Adventure yesterday and, judging from the many texts I got from them, they had a great time.

3. Funny Homily Story
I wanted to share a funny homily story that the priest told at daily Mass the other day, one that illustrates how our actions often speak louder than our words. A man was driving a car and he came to a yellow stop. Instead of rushing through the intersection, he slowed then stopped. The woman in the car behind him slammed on the breaks and got out of the car and started screaming and yelling at the man because he had stopped and she had expected to make it through the yellow light. A police officer was nearby and arrested the woman, who was taken to jail, fingerprinted and detained for sometime. Finally, after an hour or so, the police officer returned and told the woman that there had been a misunderstanding and she was free to go. The woman was perplexed. Why was there a misunderstanding? The policeman explained: “Well, on the back of your car were a “Choose Life,” “Pray the Rosary,” and “Follow me to Mass” bumper stickers…I was sure that you had stolen the car.”

4. Avgolemono SoupThe other day I had the extreme pleasure of tasting a unique and flavorful soup called Avgolemono Soup, a traditional Greek Chicken and Lemon soup. Here’s a recipe for Avgolemeno Soup I found online. This is my new favorite soup.

5 NFP Awareness WeekNFP Awareness Week continues. Try to tell at least one other person about NFP! Click here to learn more about Natural Family Planning.

6. Chaplet of Divine Mercy
I love reciting the Chaplet of Divine Mercy. Most days, I offer this chaplet for a person who will die that day. It’s a beautiful prayer. To learn more about it, check out EWTN’s website.

7. Jump Squirrel Jump
For those of you who didn’t read about my “squirrel adventure,” check out Monday’s post.

Copyright 2012 Ellen Gable Hrkach

7 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes Friday – July 27

  1. The squirrel story cracked me up. I was actually laughing every time I though about it all evening on Monday. I think people probably steer clear of me when I get like that… :)

  2. Pingback: Sunday Snippets – July 29 « Plot Line and Sinker

  3. I loved your story of meeting James in your book, Come My Beloved (which I thoroughly enjoyed, by the way.) I just reread it and smiled again. Have a happy day day of celebration!

  4. Yay! Congrats on your anniversary. I feel like I know you two, since I read Emily’s Hope. I LOVED In Name Only…and cannot wait for the sequel, so here I am..stalking you. ;) God bless…and keep writing!! =)

Leave a Reply

