7 Quick Takes Friday – August 3

Please join me and other Catholic bloggers at Conversion Diary for 7 Quick Takes Friday.

1. First Professions in Nashville
My sister, who had been with the Dominican Sisters of St. Cecilia in Nashville for two years, discerned that she was being called to leave three weeks before First Profession of Vows. A week after she returned home, my sister asked if I’d still like to go to Nashville. After spending two years with these wonderful young women, my sister wanted to be with them when they made their first profession and received the black veil. I had also bonded with these beautiful sisters during my visits to the Motherhouse over the past two years so I said yes. (More on our trip in a future blog post). The Profession Mass was beautiful and moving.

The photo below is of my sister and Sr. Mary Angela, the novice mistress who (along with the rest of the novices) was delighted to see my sister again and told both of us that we were “like family” and they hoped we would visit frequently.

photo copyright Ellen Gable Hrkach

2. Parthenon
We were only in Nashville for 18 hours, but we did get to do a bit of sightseeing. Nashville has a really cool exact representation of the Parthenon (below).

photo copyright Ellen Gable Hrkach

3. Sunshine Tea
We also enjoyed a wonderful breakfast of whole wheat blueberry pancakes, fruit oatmeal and Sunshine Tea at Fido’s in Nashville. Sunshine Tea, I soon found out, is a delectable fresh-brewed tea with a blend of mint, ginger and orange.

4. Soft PretzelsOne of my family’s favorite New Jersey treats are Philadelphia Soft Pretzels. We can’t get authentic soft pretzels up in Canada so we usually try to enjoy them here in NJ.

5. Centennial Exhibit
As most of my regular readers know, In Name Only, my second novel, includes an entire chapter at the 1876 Centennial Exhibition in Philadelphia. Yesterday I had an opportunity to visit Memorial Hall (one of the few remaining buildings from the 1876 Exhibition). It’s now a children’s museum but the inside remains impressive. As well, there is an entire section on the ground floor devoted to the Centennial Exhibition complete with a full scale miniature of the complete exhibition grounds built in 1889 by John Baird. More on this exhibit in an upcoming blog post.

Photo copyright Ellen Gable Hrkach

6. Angela’s Song
Full Quiver’s newest novel, Angela’s Song by AnnMarie Creedon, is in its final editing stages and will be released on October 7. Angela’s Song is about Angela “Jel” Cooke, a widow. A short excerpt is below:

“Bless me Father, for I have sinned. I kissed Jack Bartolomucci, and then I slapped him.”

“You slapped him?” he asks, incredulous. Then alarm spreads across his face. Father lowers his voice. “He did something to you that warranted slapping?”

“No, he didn’t, really…well, sort of, at least I thought so last night but today I’m not so sure.”

Fr. Sean sighs and rubs his forehead. “I’m confused, Jel.”

“Okay. Everything he did and said led me to believe he was going to ask me out and I really got my hopes up. But then he told me that, although he wanted to ask me out, he couldn’t because I’m not ready.”

“And then you kissed him?”

I nod. “And then I slapped him.”

Stay tuned for more information in the coming weeks.

7. Growing Up in God’s Image
Growing Up in God’s Image is a book that helps parents talk to their kids about sex. It will be released on September 8, 2012.

For more Quick Takes, visit Conversion Diary.

Copyright 2012 Ellen Gable Hrkach

3 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes Friday – August 3

  1. I auditioned at Vanderbilt when I was a senior in high school and we drove past the Parthenon but never stopped. We did, however, visit the Opryland Hotel. :)

    Your sister looks so much like you!

Leave a Reply

