7 Quick Takes Friday – October 5

Please join me and other Catholic bloggers at Conversion Diary for 7 Quick Takes Friday.

1. Happy Thanksgiving Weekend to all my Canadian Relatives and Friends

Photo copyright Ellen Gable Hrkach

2. Apples, Apples, Apples
I love this time of year because of the crisp air, scent of burning wood and abundance of apples!

3. Kathy’s Butterscotch Tarts


Thanksgiving wouldn’t be Thanksgiving without my friend, Kathy’s, butterscotch tarts. (Photo is of her butter tarts, not butterscotch…) I don’t generally like butterscotch, but these tarts are the BEST I’ve ever tasted. Visit Kathy’s website here.

4. Angela’s Song Release Date in Two Days!
Full Quiver’s newest book, Angela’s Song by AnnMarie Creedon will be released in two days! For next week’s Quick Takes, I’ll be giving away print and Kindle copies of this Catholic novel.

5. iPod Fun
I think my kids are regretting the day I got an iPod. Now, I’ve been able to carry my entire CD collection around in my purse, always ready to play a song in the car or while I’m doing dishes. I have eclectic tastes in music: Mozart, Beethoven, show tunes, oldies (Johnny Mathis, Beatles), rock (Rush and the Police) to more modern performers like Michael Bublé and Loreena McKennitt.

6. Bird Frenzy or Just Migration?
Two days ago, as my husband was working on the roof, he noticed hundreds of birds making a high-pitched noise in the forest next to our home. It looked and sounded like a scene from Alfred Hitchcock’s “The Birds.” It appeared to be mostly sparrows, but they were very loud and there were more birds than I’ve ever seen in one place (except for the above-mentioned movie). Within a few moments, they were gone (and left before I had a chance to take a photograph).

7. Ten in a Bed (Classic Cartoon)
Here’s one of our classic cartoons from 2006/7.

Cartoon copyright Full Quiver Publishing/James and Ellen Hrkach

8 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes Friday – October 5

  1. That cartoon is priceless! And Happy Thanksgiving! We moved from *almost* Canada (NY border) this past year and I’m missing the brilliant leaves and the apples so much. But I’m NOT missing the crazy migrating Hitchcock birds! We used to get them in our trees and they would start their screeching at 4am…:)

    Intrigues by the Catholic novel, will have to check it out!

  2. Pingback: Sunday Snippets – October 6 « Plot Line and Sinker

  3. I enjoyed your photo. Canada has some really beautiful scenery, but it’s too far north for me. I would turn into an icicle that never thawed out! I’ve visited Canada a couple of times, though, and really loved it – Nova Scotia, Quebec, and Vancouver Island.

  4. Loved the cartoon. And the picture of the foliage. We don’t get that in Florida and I still miss it even after living here for over 30 years! But we get the birds coming south for the winter! And I love watching them fly in! If yours are leaving, they will be here soon!

Leave a Reply

