7 Quick Takes Friday – October 12

Please join me and other Catholic bloggers at Jen’s Conversion Diary for 7 Quick Takes Friday.

1. Angela’s Song ReleasedThis past Sunday, The Feast of the Holy Rosary, Angela’s Song by AnnMarie Creedon was released. This is the first novel my publishing company has released that is not written by me. I have been working closely with the author (as editor and publisher) for the past year or so. Within one day of its release, it hit #3 on Amazon’s Religious & Liturgical Category. Within five days, it has received 10 five-star reviews! To celebrate, I will be giving away one print copy and one Kindle copy of this book. Please leave a comment below before Friday, October 19th. To purchase Angela’s Song, click here.

2. Growing Up in God’s Image
Growing Up in God’s Image by Carolyn Smith, continues to sell well on Amazon and has been on two different bestsellers’ lists there. I’ve been working with Carolyn for two years as editor and publisher.

3. Read the Catechism!
In this Year of Faith, Pope Benedict has encouraged us to learn more about our Catholic Faith through reading the Catechism. Here is a great link that will send you excerpts every day throughout the year.

4. Autumn Beauty

5. SCSS Conference
At the end of this month, I’ll be attending the Society of Catholic Social Scientists’ 20th Annual Conference which will be held just outside New York City. If you’re in the Greater New York area, please consider attending. I’ll be speaking at the conference and also participating as a vendor. For more information, click here.

6. Books on My Review Shelf
The following books are on my book review shelf. Look for my reviews in the upcoming weeks:
Fallen Men – Brian O’Hare
The Wrong Enemy – Jane Lebak

7. Classic Cartoon “Flock”

cartoon copyright James & Ellen Hrkach/Full Quiver Publishing

Text and images copyright Ellen Gable Hrkach

9 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes Friday – October 12

  1. I’d love to win either copy of Angela’s Song, sign me up!

    I find it ironic in my life that the Church is declaring the coming year as the year of faith. Two years ago I was in RCIA to join the Church, so I spent that year studying the Catechism, then this past year my diocese did the “Fanning the Flame” study of the Catechism to celebrate our 125th diocese anniversary. Now the entire worldwide Church will be studying the Catechism…God always seems to do things in my life in groups of “3”…in this case 3 years!

  2. I’d love to win this book, in either format.
    The “read the catechism in a year” is brilliant! I signed up and read the first installment last night.
    And thanks for keeping those autumn beauty photos up to date. Still mostly green here in southern NJ, but it’s definitely turning chilly.

  3. I am thrilled for you; it is wonderful to see a good, kind person succeed in the cut throat arena of publishing.

    I too have signed up to read the catechism in a year. Brilliant idea.
    I am following your lead in this in Catholic virtual world. St. Blog’s Parish accepted my blog, I thought maybe I wasn’t “Catholic” enough because I mainly talk about family spirituality and how ordinary the extraordinary is. But I mean, what is more Catholic than Jesus incarnate, infused in all?
    love melanie

  4. Pingback: Sunday Snippets – October 13 « Plot Line and Sinker

  5. Congratulations to Ann Marie and you as editor and publisher. Talent and hard work has it’s rewards.

    Please sign me up. I love give aways and a good read.

  6. I cast my bread upon the water to win a copy of Angela’s Song. I met you and AnneMarie at the CMN Tradeshow, and attended one of your discussions on publishing. I was impressed by your story to make a living as a writer. AnnMarie and I are friends on facebook. I was honored by invitation by RAnn for Sunday Snippets as well. http://sacredoysters.blogspot.com/ Thanks Ellen.

Leave a Reply

