Famous Literary Couples – Win a Free Book

I suppose that it’s no surprise that I’m a voracious reader. When I started writing fiction ten years ago, the greatest piece of editorial advice I was given was to read good books. Unfortunately, I’ve become a rather critical reader because I’m always dissecting books, trying to figure out what makes them good or, consequently, why they are poorly written.

Since Valentine’s Day is only a few days away, I’d like to share my top five fictional couples:

Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy (Pride and Prejudice)
Jim and Della (The Gift of the Magi)
Jane Eyre and Edward Rochester (Jane Eyre)
Frederic Henry, Catherine Barkley (A Farewell to Arms)
Scarlett O’Hara and Rhett Butler (Gone With the Wind)

Most of these classics are available free of charge either as an e-book on Kindle or at your local library.

Leave a comment below (before Tuesday, February 15th) listing at least one of your favorite literary couples, and you will be entered to win a hard copy of my second novel, In Name Only.

Text and photo copyright 2011 Ellen Gable Hrkach

6 thoughts on “Famous Literary Couples – Win a Free Book

  1. Here are my favourites:

    Jane Eyre and Mr. Rochester
    Jane and Mr. Bingley
    Fish and Rose
    Blanche and Bear
    Mara and that Egyptian prince (Mara , daughter of the Nile)

Leave a Reply

