The Future of Self-Publishing: E-Books

Yesterday, I was over at the Catholic Writers Guild blog writing about self-publishing and e-books.

Two weeks ago, both my new book, Come My Beloved: Inspiring Stories of Catholic Courtship and my second novel, In Name Only, were in the top 100 of their genre categories on the Amazon Kindle. In Name Only has continued to remain in the top 100 on and off for the past week.

Most of the books I read now are on my Kindle or computer. I rarely read a print book these days. E-books are usually less expensive than print books. E-books are environmentally friendly. So what does this mean for authors?

Here’s an excerpt of the article:

Imagine a future where kids don’t have to carry around a heavy backpack for all their books, merely a small thin bag to tote around. Imagine a future where ALL books cost under $10, with many being 2.99 or under and millions available for FREE. Imagine a future where an author can receive 70 percent of the royalties…

That future is NOW!

Making my books available on Amazon Kindle was the single best marketing tool I’ve ever used. Recently, both my new book, Come My Beloved, and my second novel, In Name Only, were in the top 100 in Amazon Kindle Books on the same day!

With tens of thousands of Kindle (and other) e-readers being sold daily, they are fast becoming the wave of the future! The Kindle reader is also available as a free application for PC, iPod, iPad and iPhone, so it’s not necessary to spend money to read a Kindle book.

Amazon currently offers Kindle publishers 70 percent royalty (for most books) and there are virtually no up front costs. Of course, there are other advantages to having your self-published book available on the Amazon Kindle.

To read the rest, click on the link below:
http://blog.catholicwritersguild.com/2011/07/e-books-future-of-self-publishing.html

Text and photo copyright 2011 Ellen Gable Hrkach

5 thoughts on “The Future of Self-Publishing: E-Books

  1. You’ve surely got me thinking! There is still a part of me that wants that validation of being accepted by a traditional publisher. Do you know what I mean? You’ve done very well, and I’m so happy for you. I also know how much hard work you’re putting in!

  2. Interesting! So self-published Kindle books are more profitable for an author than conventionally-published books? I was wondering how this all shook out, having heard that an author made more for a conventionally-published book than an ebook when it was released through the publisher.

    As the work for the author is the same either way, I don’t believe the author should be penalized for the format in which the reader purchases the book. I’d love to learn more about this!

  3. Hi Barb…Kindle books are more profitable for self-published authors, not for traditionally published authors (who make more for print books than e-books.) But interestingly, I’m now selling more print books because I’m selling so many e-books.

Leave a Reply

