Fiction Friday – Catholic Fiction

I have seen a definite resurgence of Catholic Fiction in the past 15 years. Granted, not all of it is quality Catholic fiction. However, there are many aspiring Catholic novelists out there and I see this as a good thing.

When I entered my second novel In Name Only in the 2010 IPPY Awards in the category of Religious Fiction, I hoped to win a medal, but I certainly didn’t expect to win the top prize. I knew that no other Catholic novel had won the coveted award thus far. When I found out that I had won, I was flabbergasted. Even more amazing, this year, Ann Lewis’s Murder in the Vatican won the Gold Medal. Two Catholic novels have won the top prize two years in a row.

Here is a (non-comprehensive) list of some of my favorite Catholic novels:


Death Comes for the Archbishop by Willa Cather

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

The Mystery of Things by Debra Murphy

Passport by Christopher Blunt

The Midnight Dancers by Regina Doman

In-Sight by Gerard Webster

Danny Gospel by David Athey

House of Gold by Bud Macfarlane Jr.

Do you have a favorite Catholic novel, either classic or contemporary? Leave a comment below before September 15th to be entered to win a free hard copy of my new novel, Stealing Jenny.

Copyright 2011 Ellen Gable Hrkach

10 thoughts on “Fiction Friday – Catholic Fiction

  1. Pingback: Sunday Snippets – One Day Late « Plot Line and Sinker

  2. Hi, I forget how I stumbled here, but thanks for the list. My favorite Catholic novel is “The End of the Affair” by Graham Greene. Flawed characters, great novel.

  3. Hi Ellen,

    Thanks for your list of recommendations. Eventho you are my favorite author, I am always looking for good books to read. This summer I also enjoyed 2 books from Michelle Buckman, “Rachel’s Contrition” and “Death Panels”

  4. Pingback: Fiction Friday – Passport Now Available on Kindle « Plot Line and Sinker

Leave a Reply

