Shirt of Flame: A Year With St. Thérèse

In her book, author Heather King takes the reader on a 12-month journey of reflections on St. Thérèse’s “Little Way.”

This is a delightful book that can be read over the course of a year or as quickly as you’d like. Each month’s chapter has a particular theme and begins with a quote by or about St. Thérèse, reflections and personal experiences shared by the author and ends with a prayer.

I thoroughly enjoyed every chapter. If I were to pick one favorite chapter, however, it would be Chapter 12, December, which is entitled “The Divine Elevator” (On Facing Death With Joy) and I really liked this quote from St. Thérèse (which is also from Story of a Soul): “We’re in an age of inventions. Now there’s no more need to climb the steps of a staircase. In rich homes, there are elevators that replace stairs to great advantage. I would also like to find an elevator to lift me up to Jesus, because I am too little to climb the rough staircase of perfection…the elevator that must lift me up to heaven is your arms, Jesus! For that I don’t need to become big. On the contrary, I have to stay little – may I become little, more and more.”

Shirt of Flame is a great read and I enjoyed it very much. I highly recommend this book to those who are searching for the modern relevance of St. Thérèse’s Little Way.

Thanks to Paraclete Press for the review copy.

Copyright 2011 Ellen Gable Hrkach

4 thoughts on “Shirt of Flame: A Year With St. Thérèse

  1. Ellen, it always amazes me how the priest finds present day relevance in the Gospel each week. I love hearing his homilies. When we look deeply into the Saints’ lives, we can always find relevance. Thanks for sharing this book with your readers. ~Victoria M. Lees

  2. Pingback: Sunday Snippets – November 13 « Plot Line and Sinker

Leave a Reply

