7 Quick Takes Friday

Join me and other Catholic bloggers at Conversion Diary for 7 Quick Takes Friday.

1. My fourth son turned 16 this week. To me, it is always a joy to watch my sons grow older. But my two youngest sons (photo above) have a special place in my heart. When my third son was 10 months old, I nearly died from complications of an ectopic pregnancy. We were told not to have any more children. Through prayer and discernment (Responsible Parenthood blog post), we chose to be open to more children and I’m so thankful we were.2. Yesterday was my maternal grandmother’s birthday. Bessie May passed away in July of 1967, but every year on her birthday, I remember her in a special way. If you look at both the photo of my fourth son as a toddler and my grandmother’s photo above, you’ll probably see some resemblance.3. In honor of the March for Life earlier this week, I posted the lyrics of the pro-life song that my husband wrote when he was a teenager.4. One of our most popular cartoons (above). 5. A few mornings ago, I woke up to find the internet not working. I was annoyed, to say the least. We’ve been having a lot of difficulties recently with our internet. In fact, I couldn’t even check my email on my Kindle because the 3G wasn’t working. I sighed, frustrated, then turned around and noticed the sky exploding in beautiful color as the sun was about to rise. This isn’t the exact picture, but similar to the photo above. As I stood, mesmerized by the colors, I realized that if my internet had just worked properly, I probably wouldn’t have noticed (and enjoyed) the beautiful sky. 6. Wednesday evening of this week, I appeared by Skype to members of a Catholic book club in Missouri. Their selection this month was In Name Only. When they first approached me about talking to their book club, I answered with a resounding “Absolutely!” It was a fun hour, answering questions and talking about In Name Only, as well as my other novels. This is just one more reason why I enjoy the 21st century!
7. Last, but certainly not least, the Catholic Writers Guild Blog featured news of my Kindle success on their blog this week, Gable Triples the Top Ten List! Thanks, Larissa, and everyone at the Catholic Writers Guild! My books are available on Kindle and in paperback by clicking on the links at the side bar.

For more quick takes, visit Conversion Diary.

Photographs of books and people copyright 2012 Ellen Gable Hrkach
Text copyright 2012 Ellen Gable Hrkach
Sky photographs copyright 2012 Josh Hrkach

4 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes Friday

  1. Ellen,

    So many interesting bits and pieces! I just love the cartoon. Skype? I haven’t been brave enough to use it yet. I even felt nervous when someone suggested a telephone interview! Writing, and thinking as I go, is so much easier. The book club members must have really appreciated having you as their guest. Technology has opened up so many possibilities. And congratulations on your book success.

    God bless!

  2. Thanks so much, Sue! Skype is fun! And the only drawback for me was since there was a crowd (11 women) and many were not near the microphone, I couldn’t hear some of their comments. However, I just think it was neat that I could participate in a book club meeting a thousand miles away!

  3. Pingback: Sunday Snippets – January 29 « Plot Line and Sinker

Leave a Reply

