After Miscarriage: A Catholic Woman’s Companion to Healing and Hope

After Miscarriage: A Catholic Woman’s Companion to Healing and Hope is a wonderful new book by Karen Edmisten, that shares the experiences of mothers and how they dealt with miscarriage and baby loss. I contributed a story called “Eternal Gifts.”

Years ago, after suffering two miscarriages in a row, I began writing in a journal to ease my grief. These journal entries eventually became my first published article, Five Little Souls in Heaven, and then also was the basis for my first novel, Emily`s Hope.

The author of this booklet, Karen Edmisten, also shares her own journal entries, as well as her story of losing five babies through miscarriage.

This is a deeply moving, beautiful collection of stories, poems and reflections.

Karen was recently on the Among Women Podcast with Pat Gohn to speak about her book and her experience with miscarriage. She talked about miscarriage sometimes being a private pain because the couple often hasn’t yet told anyone of their news.

Last year, I also appeared on Among Women Podcast (Episode 89) and spoke about my experience with pregnancy loss.

For more Baby Loss Resources, please click on the link above my blog name “Baby Loss.

copyright 2012 Ellen Gable Hrkach

5 thoughts on “After Miscarriage: A Catholic Woman’s Companion to Healing and Hope

  1. I am so sorry for your miscarriages, Ellen. My heart breaks for you, and for the cut-to-the-core pain that so many women endure. I’m glad that mothers like you are speaking out about this topic. From what I understand, many women feel like they have no one to talk to about their grieving. Hopefully, with your writing, and with more books about miscarriage being published, people will break the silence and be met with the support of others.

  2. Thanks so much! I really appreciate that. You’re right that sometimes women who suffer miscarriage feel like they have no one to talk to. It really does help to talk to someone who has been through baby loss…

  3. Pingback: Sunday Snippets – March 25 « Plot Line and Sinker

  4. Ellen, thank you so much for mentioning the book, and for allowing me to use a small part of your story in it. God bless!

Leave a Reply

