7 Quick Takes Friday – The Month Of May

Please join me and other Catholic bloggers at Conversion Diary for 7 Quick Takes Friday.

I have always enjoyed the month of May. It happens to include some family birthdays, a holiday, my anniversary and, of course, May is the month of Mary. Also, May happens to be the month that my third novel, Stealing Jenny, is on sale for only .99! The print book is 12.99 so that’s a $12 savings!

Here are a few of the reasons I love the month of May:

1. May is Mary’s month. When I was a child in Catholic school, every May, the entire school and parish took part in the May procession. One 8th grade female student was chosen as May Queen to crown the statue of Mary. When my mother was 13, she was chosen to be May Queen at St. Richard’s School in Philadelphia. Years later, when we were living in Philadelphia and attending the same parish, my sister was chosen as May Queen in 1971. The photo below is of my mother as May Queen (1947).

2. May is usually a great weather month. The key word there is usually. So far, it’s been rainy and cool, unusual for this time of year.

3. May is a month of birthdays. I’ve shared before that my youngest son was my favorite birthday present 13 years ago. Besides my son’s birthday and my birthday, there are numerous other relatives who have birthdays in May. I guess August was a popular time for conceiving (although I was conceived in September and was born prematurely in May).
4. May is the month of our anniversary. One of the reasons my husband and I chose May for our wedding 30 years ago is because it is the month of Mary, but also because May usually brings good weather. Again, usually is the key word here. It rained the entire day of our wedding so most of our photos were taken inside. However, as the reception was winding down to a close, the photographer approached us. He said that the weather was clearing and asked us if we would like to pose for a few photos outside. When we walked outside, we were astonished to see a huge patch of bright light in the distance. It’s not evident from the photo because it was around 8:00 p.m., but the weather had turned quite beautiful. I took it as a sign from God that truly “bright days were ahead.”
5. May is the month of Mother’s Day. Although I have always tried to honor both my mother and mother-in-law, Mother’s Day has afforded me an extra chance to spoil them. My mother has been gone for nearly five years but I still remember her daily in prayer. We usually treat my mother-in-law to dinner at a restaurant. As a mother myself, I have always enjoyed receiving home-made, creative gifts from my sons and have treasured these special mementos. The photo below is of me and my mother.
6. Continuing with the Mother’s Day theme, here is a Mother’s Day cartoon:
7. May includes a three-day weekend. Up here in Canada, the third Monday is Victoria Day, which is a holiday similar to Memorial Day in the USA. We usually celebrate by barbequing and enjoying a day off. It’s the unofficial start to summer (I say unofficial because up here in Canada, anything is possible in terms of weather…I have seen snow on one or two previous Victoria Day holidays).

For more Quick Takes, please visit Conversion Diary.

Photos and Text copyright 2012 Ellen Gable Hrkach

5 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes Friday – The Month Of May

  1. Pingback: 7 Quick Takes Friday – The Month Of May | Catholic Canada

  2. I enjoyed this sweet, sentimental post and getting to learn more about you! Two of my children were born in May, so I love this month, too. The only down side of May to me is that I have to say “goodbye” to another batch of students headed off to High School. After twenty-three years of teaching, it never gets easier!

Leave a Reply

