7 Quick Takes Friday

Please join me and other Catholic bloggers at Conversion Diary for 7 Quick Takes Friday.

1. Birthday Milestone
This past week my middle son (Tim) turned 20. He holds the distinction of being the tallest in our family (nearly six feet tall), the earliest toilet trainer (two years, one month), learned how to play piano like a pro in only six months, and the only child who has gone skydiving (at 17…I aged ten years just waiting for him to jump out of the plane, but I later wrote an article that was published in Family Foundations Magazine – below).

2. Fiddler on the Roof
This evening my husband and 22-year-old son will be performing in a local community theatre production of Fiddler on the Roof (my husband is “Tevye” and my son, Ben, is “Motel.”) Last night’s performance was amazing (although admittedly, I’m biased). Ben, who minored in theatre at university, was called in as a last minute replacement and had to learn his song and his lines quickly. If you live in the Ottawa Valley, please consider coming by and watching. (Location: ADHS, Arnprior, ON 7:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m., tickets $15).

3. Retirement Activities
This month is full of retirement festivities for my husband, who is taking an early retirement after 26 years of teaching the arts at the local high school. He isn’t retiring from work, however. He has a list of nearly 100 creative projects he’s wanted to work on, not the least of which will be his own artwork. His paintings and prints will be showcased at an upcoming solo show at the Cornwall Regional Art Gallery. (Photo below is entitled “Self-Portrait on Caramel” 2011, o/c)

4. Pinterest
I’m having a great time using Pinterest, pinning all sorts of interesting pictures, videos and websites. Strangely enough, my pin of Caspar David Friedrich’s “Woman at the Window” has the most repins of any of the content in my boards. If you’re on Pinterest, please consider following me. I usually follow back.

5. First Royalty Check from Britain’s Amazon Digital
A few days ago, I received my first royalty check from Britain’s Amazon Digital. It was the first time I’ve ever received a check in “British Pounds Sterling.”

6. Self-Publishing Guru?
Yesterday, a friend of mine forwarded me an email in which someone called me a “self-publishing guru.” My first reaction was “Me? A self-publishing guru?” My second reaction was “Cool.”

7. Independent Author Network
I’m now a member of the Independent Author Network. This is a great organization that assists independent authors in marketing and promoting themselves. My profile page includes links to all my books and social networking sites.

Fiddler on the Roof photo credit: Josh Hrkach
Other photos and text copyright 2012 Ellen Gable Hrkach

5 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes Friday

  1. I love Fiddler! It was the school spring musical when I was in 10th grade. I had a solo– I was in the song “The Rumor” (which is not in the movie, of course). Hilarious song! Despite the serious theme of the Jews being ejected from Russia, the show is just so funny.

  2. Pingback: Sunday Snippets – June 10 « Plot Line and Sinker

  3. Congratulations, Ellen. Although I myself would not know what to do with a check in British pounds sterling, it would be fun to solve the problem. And yes, you are a self-publishing guru. Keep on going. You’re helping many people. I’m so glad you’re participating in Sunday Snippets because otherwise I don’t think I’d have met you.

  4. Thanks so much, Barb! As to what one does with a BPS check, it was easy…my bank just converted it and deposited it (perhaps it wasn’t so difficult because I live in Canada and we’re part of the British monarchy). But it was cool all the same.

Leave a Reply

