7 Quick Takes Friday – November 30

Please join me and other Catholic bloggers at Conversion Diary for 7 Quick Takes Friday.

1. Advent is almost here!

Image copyright Full Quiver Publishing

Image copyright Full Quiver Publishing

2. Snow, Snow, Snow!
We woke up to this winter wonderland a few mornings ago!

3. Loreena McKennitt Concert
Tomorrow, my husband and I are looking forward to seeing Loreena McKennitt in concert at the National Art Centre in Ottawa. Here’s a beautiful video of her performing “Snow.”

4. Favorite Advent Books
It’s that time again! Here are some of my favorite Advent Books:
Donkey Bells – Catherine Doherty (Madonna House)
Welcome Baby Jesus – Sarah Reinhard
Joy to the World: Advent Activities For Your Family – Kathleen Basi
Advent, Christmas and Epiphany in the Domestic Church – Peter and Catherine Fournier
O Radiant Dawn – Lisa Hendey (Just released this year!)
Advent and Christmas with Fulton Sheen

5. Make Your Own Advent Wreath
Years ago, my husband made our advent wreath and we have been using the same one every year (we replace the candles). Our wreath uses the shorter votive type candles. To learn how to make your own advent wreath, click here: http://www.catholicculture.org/culture/liturgicalyear/activities/view.cfm?id=954

6. Stuffed French Toast
A favorite of ours every Christmas morning is this easy-to-make, easy-to-serve breakfast. I usually prepare it the day before, then pop it in the oven just before the kids wake up to open presents Christmas morning. There are many different variations, but here’s the one I use because it serves our large family.Full-Overnightfrenchtoast

7. New Blog Photo
Regular readers may notice that my “water” blog photo above has been changed. This photo from Venice was taken five years ago when we traveled in Italy.AAheader for blog

Copyright 2012 Ellen Gable Hrkach

8 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes Friday – November 30

  1. Hi Ellen: I don’t always like to publicly comment. I just had to share that I am totally envious of your tickets to see and hear Loreena, but loved the sharing of the video. I also had a chance to listen to The Highwayman. My first husband loved that rendition; it brought me a beautiful memory this morning to find it on this site. I am not a surfer of the internet, so it was a real treat to discover the other videos. Thanks so much. And, I plan to try the French Toast recipe. Your blog brightened my day. Ellen, watch for a book for children that I am sending you, written by my boss at the Messenger, Father Power and myself. For children especially, but can be enjoyed by the whole family. The True Story of God…. It isn’t in any bookstores except Ave Maria Centre for Peace in Toronto. We tried several stores but it is hard to break in, but we sell it from our magazine. I hope you have a glorious Christmas and all the best in the coming year. Blessings, Joan Levy Earle

  2. Pingback: 7 Quick Takes Friday ā€“ November 30 | Catholic Canada

  3. Pingback: Sunday Snippets – December 2 « Plot Line and Sinker

Leave a Reply

