7 Quick Takes Friday – Vol. 51

7_quick_takes_sm1I’m heading over to Conversion Diary to participate in 7 Quick Takes Friday with other Catholic bloggers.

1. Ski Hill Fun
Last Saturday, I spent the afternoon at the local ski hill with my youngest son. I don’t ski, but he enjoys skiing, so I stayed in the lounge beside the fireplace with this view (photo) listening to Christmas songs on the radio. Because it’s the beginning of the ski season, very few people were on the hill and no waiting for the ski lift. It was a relaxing time for me and an exciting time for him.Ski Hill

2 and 3. Pakenham Five-Span Bridge
We live in the country near Pakenham, Ontario. Pakenham is a beautiful little town with a unique five-span stone bridge.

photo copyright Josh Hrkach

photo copyright Josh Hrkach

Photo copyright Josh Hrkach

Photo copyright Josh Hrkach

4. Jell-O Cookies
Since she worked from home full time, my mother rarely baked cookies. The exception was Christmas time. In the 70’s, she began making festive pink and green Jell-O cookies. Here’s the recipe.

Photo credit: Kraft

Photo credit: Kraft

5. Upcoming Reviews
I’m working on reviews for the following books:
The Life I Dreamed by Kari Burke
Facing Infertility: A Catholic Approach by Jean Dimech-Juchniewicz

6. No Room at the Inn Cartoon
This was actually the very first cartoon we created for Family Foundations Magazine six years ago. It wasn’t the first cartoon we ever did, however. We have about 25 years worth of Christmas card cartoons (I’ll be sharing some of those next week…)

Image copyright James and Ellen Hrkach/FQP

Image copyright James and Ellen Hrkach/FQP

7. Carol of the Bells 2010
My husband and three of my sons performing “Christmas Eve at Sarajevo” Carol of the Bells back in 2010.

Copyright 2012 Ellen Gable Hrkach

5 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes Friday – Vol. 51

  1. It seems I always comment on the pictures you share–but those bridge photos are breathtaking! I particularly liked the second one.
    And Carol of the Bells–one of my favorites!
    Thank you so much for sharing the pictures and the music.

  2. Pingback: 7 Quick Takes Friday – Vol. 51 | Catholic Canada

  3. Pingback: Sunday Snippets – December 15 « Plot Line and Sinker

Leave a Reply

