7 Quick Takes Friday – Volume 64

7_quick_takes_sm1Please join me and other Catholic bloggers at Jen’s Conversion Diary for 7 Quick Takes Friday.

1. How Pope Francis Decided On His Name
This beautiful video clip of Pope Francis (telling the story of how he chose Francis) shows his humility, holiness and humor:

2. Five Little Souls in Heaven
My first published article (Nazareth Journal, 1995) was entitled “Five Little Souls in Heaven.” This article actually became the basis for my novel, Emily’s Hope.

image copyright 1995 Hrkach

image copyright 1995 Hrkach

3. Pope Francis Kisses, Blesses Disabled Man
Another beautiful video, this one of Pope Francis getting out of the Popemobile and kissing, then blessing a disabled man.

4. A Practical Physician’s Manual, 1888
There is no shortage of reading material from the 19th century. The Library of Congress has an extensive list of digitized antique books. I’ve been reading a physician’s manual from 1888 and I laughed out loud at the following: “A physician who needlessly hurts his patients is not likely to be very popular with them.”

5. A Subtle Grace – Update
Word count is now at 145,000 words and I’m rewriting three more scenes. In fact, I think I’ve rewritten about 80 percent of the entire book since Christmas.

6. Reading and Reviewing Shelf
My Confirmation Book by Donna-Marie Cooper O’Boyle
Unseen by John Michael Hileman

7. “Kidding” Cartoon

image copyright 2011 James & Ellen Hrkach

image copyright 2011 James & Ellen Hrkach

Copyright 2013 Ellen Gable Hrkach

7 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes Friday – Volume 64

  1. Pingback: 7 Quick Takes Friday – Volume 64 | Catholic Canada

  2. Pingback: Sunday Snippets – March 24 | Plot Line and Sinker

  3. The more I see of this wonderful man the more I love him. I have never been one who thought to pray for the Pope daily–hourly–until now! He can do so much for this bruised Church and fort he world. I pray all the time for him to have the strength and wisdom to do it, and to be safe from harm while he’s doing it.

  4. Pope Francis certainly has captured hearts and raised hopes, including mine I pray for him often and intend to make it a habit. At very least, I can pepper my day with Hail Marys.

Leave a Reply

