7 Quick Takes Friday – Volume 65

7_quick_takes_sm1Please join me and other Catholic bloggers at Conversion Diary for 7 Quick Takes Friday.

1. Spring is Coming! No…Really It is!
We woke up to several inches of snow this past Tuesday.

photo copyright Ellen Gable Hrkach

photo copyright Ellen Gable Hrkach

2. Beaver Tails
My youngest son (age 13) has discovered Beaver Tails which he describes as “soooo good!” For those of you who aren’t familiar with this Canadian treat, Beaver Tails are pastries that are shaped like beaver tails, usually with sugar and cinnamon (although I have seen some with chocolate and other toppings). Now, maybe it’s because I’m American, but there’s something bothersome about a delicacy that is called a “Beaver Tail.” For me, it conjures up images of fried beaver…

3. Rejections
I hate rejection, but doesn’t everyone? I still don’t like to receive bad reviews, but for me, it’s more about the fact that the reader didn’t enjoy my book or get anything out of it.

So it wouldn’t be surprising that I hate writing rejection letters. Since my company has been getting so many submissions requests, it means that I must write rejection letters. I know the blood, sweat and tears that go into writing a first, second or even third draft manuscript. But I also know what it’s like to edit a manuscript 50 times to get it polished and written well. One of the reasons for the rejection is because new authors often don’t understand that most novels need extensive editing, even the bestselling, award-winning ones.

4. Conversation With My Gay Friend
This link has Jennifer Fulweiler’s conversation with her friend who is gay. I remember reading this last year on her blog. Excellent and non-confrontational explanation of why the Church believes marriage should be between a man and a woman.

5. Updates on A Subtle Grace
Back cover photo has been bought, editing has continued. Still looking at an end of year release (hopefully before Christmas).

6. Reading Shelf:
Rapunzel Let Down – Regina Doman (I’ve already read this and it’s outstanding…review to follow)
Jane E – Friendless Orphan – Erin McCole Cupp

7. Classic Cartoon – Hotel

Image copyright James and Ellen Hrkach

Image copyright James and Ellen Hrkach

Copyright 2013 Ellen Gable Hrkach

7 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes Friday – Volume 65

  1. Pingback: 7 Quick Takes Friday – Volume 65 | Catholic Canada

  2. Pingback: Sunday Snippets – April 7 | Plot Line and Sinker

  3. #2. Enjoyed this. I’ve never eaten beaver and think I can die happily without ever doing it, but the pastry sounds very tasty.
    #3.What makes those novels so great is all that editing and persistence. Everyone should hear the Louis L’Amour story. After hundreds of rejections he finally got published. Then it was book after book that became best sellers. It seems to me that writing has one of the most difficult learning curves out there, even for the most gifted.

  4. The pastry does sound awesome…and I sympathize with you about the rejections! I am so grateful I don’t have to do that. I’d be miserable at it.

Leave a Reply

