7 Quick Takes Friday – Volume 72

7_quick_takes_sm1 Please join me and other Catholic bloggers at Jen’s Conversion Diary for 7 Quick Takes Friday.

1. Authorgraph
I’ve discovered a cool website that allows authors to digitally “autograph” Kindle copies of their books. Check out my “Authorgraph” page!

2. Gosnell Verdict – Guilty
Three quarters of the Gosnell jury were pro-choice. This verdict definitely reflects justice.

3. Spring!
Believe it or not, this past week, it snowed briefly and we woke one morning to frost on the ground. Spring is here, though. Flowers — and weeds — are blooming!

photo copyright Josh Hrkach

photo copyright Josh Hrkach

4. A Subtle Grace – St. Agnes Prayer
In “A Subtle Grace,” my upcoming novel and the sequel to In Name Only, the main character, Kathleen O’Donovan, prays the prayer to St. Agnes.
Now good St. Agnes, play thy part,
And send to me my own sweetheart,
And show me such a happy bliss,
This night of him to have a kiss.

Or the Scottish version:
Agnes sweet, and Agnes fair, Hither, hither, now repair; Bonny Agnes, let me see The lad who is to marry me.

Legend has it that the girl who fasts and prays this prayer on the eve of St. Agnes’ Feast Day will dream of her husband.ASG sm

5. Recent Reader Mail
I received some beautiful emails recently:
“I’ve read and reread your books in the last few weeks. Thank you for writing such marvelous stories which reinforce and teach the beautiful truths of our faith. I am an avid reader and library user but at times have to skip passages in secular books or eschew the books entirely because of their sexual content or otherwise offensive content….”

Just finished Stealing Jenny… and besides the guilt over being a negligent mother for the past two days (since I couldn’t hardly put it down! 🙂 I really enjoyed it! I feel like we’re in this little Catholic/NFP bubble sometimes – all alone. It’s so cool to be able to relate to the characters on a “Catholic Culture” level. Not to mention, being a real page turner. Whew! Thanks!”

“Thank you for your book “Emily’s Hope”….my heart and soul has been deeply rejuvenated reading a story of such faith and growth. I love reading a story that shows the beauty, grace, and strength of the church’s beliefs about marriage, sex, birth control, and trusting God’s will. My soul needed a reminder about these…I admire Emily and Jason, and pray that their story reaches many of our young people.”

I treasure letters like these and feel blessed when readers write to me.

6. Reading Shelf
Marriage, A Fountain of Grace – Rosalie McPhee
On Free Choice of the Will – St. Augustine

7. Man Up Cartoon

image copyright James and Ellen Hrkach (all rights reserved)

image copyright James and Ellen Hrkach (all rights reserved)

8 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes Friday – Volume 72

  1. Let me add to the emails: I’ve read “Stealing Jenny” and thought it was excellent. You did a great job with suspense. “In Name Only” was also really good and I’m sure the sequel will be most interesting as well. Your writing proves that Catholics can write compelling fiction/romance, stay true to Church teaching, and keep the reader wanting more.

Leave a Reply

