7 Quick Takes Friday – Volume 74

7_quick_takes_sm1It’s Friday and time to connect with Conversion Diary for 7 Quick Takes.

1. Sacramental Pilgrimage
I recently shared the highlights of my Sacramental Pilgrimage here on my blog and at the Amazing Catechists website. The pilgrimage was a day of fond memories, prayers and gratitude for the beautiful gift of my Catholic faith.

In front of Sacred Heart Church, where I was baptized. photo copyright James Hrkach

In front of Sacred Heart Church, where I was baptized. photo copyright James Hrkach

2. Sacred Heart School
I was baptized, made my First Penance and First Communion at Sacred Heart Church. However, it was in the school that I spent most of my time while in this parish. I have many fond memories of my time at Sacred Heart School, which I attended from 1965-1969, first through fourth grades. The school hasn’t really changed much, at least from the outside. The only difference I could see were the red shades in the windows.

Photo copyright James Hrkach

Photo copyright James Hrkach

3. 4. and 5. St. Richard School, Ice Cream Parlor and My Grandparents’ House
I don’t have as many fond memories of this school (it recently amalgamated with Holy Spirit School and is now called St. Pio School). The sisters who taught me were very kind, for the most part. I had a few friends, but there were several “bullies” who made my life difficult. I liked living in Philly, though, so not all the memories are bad ones.

One particular story stands out that my family has laughed about for years. A block or so away from our house in Philly, there was a corner deli and ice cream parlor where my mother (who had lost a great deal of weight as the result of an operation and health issues) used to send me for ice cream sundaes to help her gain weight. One particular time, I went there to buy her an ice cream sundae. The woman behind the counter, a chain-smoking, heavyset woman who always wore her hair in a tight ponytail, was making the sundae. Unbeknownst to her, a long ash from her cigarette dropped into the sundae and she turned and kept squirting whipped cream on it, then snapped the top on the plastic cup and handed it to me. I didn’t say anything to her (I wasn’t nearly as assertive a child as I am an adult), paid the money and brought the ash-laden sundae to my mom. I did, however, tell my mom not to eat it and she never ordered another ice cream sundae from that place again.

photo copyright James Hrkach

photo copyright James Hrkach

Below is the house in which we lived for two and a half years in Philly (1969-72). This was also my grandparents’ home (I described this house and street in my novel, Emily’s Hope). The house looks very different from the house we lived in and even more different from the house in which my grandparents lived for so many years.

Photo copyright James Hrkach

Photo copyright James Hrkach

6. Reading Shelf
Check out my friend, JoAnn’s, newly-released children’s book: Where Did I Come From? JoAnn wrote this beautiful book as well as designing, drawing and coloring the pictures. For the past few days, it has been in the top five of its category. Way to go, JoAnn!

7. Virtual Attendance Cartoon

Image copyright James and Ellen Hrkach

Image copyright James and Ellen Hrkach

Copyright 2013 Ellen Gable Hrkach

One thought on “7 Quick Takes Friday – Volume 74

  1. Pingback: Sunday Snippets – June 1 | Plot Line and Sinker

Leave a Reply

