7 Quick Takes Friday – Volume 81

7_quick_takes_sm1Please join me and other Catholic bloggers at Jen’s Conversion Diary for 7 Quick Takes Friday.

1. Good Samaritan – Sr. Patricia Joseph OP
Last weekend, the Gospel reading was about the Good Samaritan. Our parish priest reminded us that from time to time, all of us have had to depend on “Good Samaritans.” There have been many incidents where my relatives and friends have stepped forward to help me whenever I have needed it and, for all those times, I am grateful. But this reminder brought forth two special memories. First, when I was seven years old and in second grade, my mother was critically ill and in the hospital. I came down with the flu while in class and my aunt was called (since my father was at work). I was told that it would take my Aunt Floss a while to get there. So my teacher, Sr. Patricia Joseph, OP, tenderly carried me to the convent where she cared for me and offered me soothing words as I waited for Aunt Floss to pick me up. Although I was very young at the time, I will never forget her kindness to me. (Of course, Aunt Floss also helped take care of me. For those of you familiar with my first novel, Emily’s Hope, she was the basis for the “Aunt Sally” character.) Here is a copy of one of the letters I wrote to my mom while she was in the hospital.

copyright Ellen Hrkach

copyright Ellen Hrkach

2. Good Samaritan – A Kind Nurse
The second memory I have of a “Good Samaritan” was when I was in the hospital after having the second surgery in less than two weeks for complications from an ectopic pregnancy. Since I am a pretty small person, and since I had already had anesthesia less than two weeks previous, my small body reacted violently. My husband and children were traveling and away from home and so I was alone in the hospital room. I had just had surgery and when I woke up from the anesthesia, I began vomiting every two to four minutes. I speak about this incident at length in my book, Emily’s Hope, (Chapter 26). I didn’t know it at the time, but it would be nearly 15 hours before I would experience any relief. It was the kind of suffering that I hoped I would never have again. In the midst of this, as I was pleading for an anti-vomiting medicine (which they tried, to no avail), a nurse came and sat at my bedside and prayed. She prayed and comforted me as long as she could, and while she couldn’t take away my pain, her presence gave me renewed peace, despite my suffering. Later, after I had recovered and discovered who the nurse was, I thanked her for her prayers and her selflessness in comforting me.

3. Journey to the Father Conference
In a few hours, I will be heading down to St. Raphaels, Ontario, to the Journey to the Father Conference. I attend every year as a vendor, selling my books, although I am always spiritually uplifted as well.

4. Don’t You Forget About Me by Erin McCole Cupp
Full Quiver’s upcoming release (November 1) is entitled Don’t You Forget About Me by Erin McCole Cupp. The book cover is still being tweaked, but here is cover photo:First Createspace Front

5. Everlasting Green
Check out my friend, Ed’s, new book of short stories, Everlasting Green. It’s only .99 on Kindle!

6. Reading/Review Shelf
God Will Provide (Patricia Treece)

7. Here’s to 20 Years Cartoon

copyright 2013 James and Ellen Hrkach (Please do not use without permission)

copyright 2013 James and Ellen Hrkach (Please do not use without permission)

© 2013 Ellen Gable Hrkach

2 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes Friday – Volume 81

Leave a Reply

