7 Quick Takes Friday – Volume 87

7_quick_takes_sm1Please join me and other Catholic bloggers over at Conversion Diary for 7 Quick Takes Friday.

1. Hummingbirds
Hummingbirds play an interesting role in my upcoming novel, A Subtle Grace (to be released Winter 2013). This is our hummingbird feeder which has gone without notice to the local hummingbirds until yesterday when no less than five hummingbirds came to visit. I wanted to get a picture of the small birds but the camera was nowhere to be found. This morning as I was watching my boys get on the bus, another cute little hummingbird came for a drink. Again, no camera to be found! IMG_0842 (2)

2. No 2 Son Turns 24 Tomorrow
My No. 2 son turns 24 tomorrow and I’m just wondering where all that time went! He even has his own IMDB page which is really cool!

3. My “Baby” Just Started High School
Again, where has the time gone? And how did his voice get so deep?

4. The First American Movies
My husband and I watched a cool documentary on Edison’s early films on Turner Classic Movies the other night and I happened to find the clip below on youtube. These very short film clips from 1891-1895 are not the most interesting in terms of what’s going on in them, but considering these were filmed between 1891 and 1895, they really are fascinating. I’m particularly intrigued by this time period since 1896 is A Subtle Grace takes place.

5. Catholic Writers Retreat
Don’t forget the Catholic Writers Retreat taking place next month in Michigan. I wish I could go but it begins on Thanksgiving weekend up here in Canada!Logo-New badge (2)

6. Reading Shelf
Everyday Catholic’s Guide to the Liturgy of the Hours – Daria Sockey
A Hero for the People – Arthur Powers

7. Fitness Cartoon

image copyright Full Quiver Publishing

image copyright Full Quiver Publishing

Copyright Ellen Gable Hrkach

6 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes Friday – Volume 87

  1. Pingback: 7 Quick Takes Friday – Volume 87 | Catholic Canada

  2. The cartoon is too funny! Add in how ludicrous I look on my “Gazelle” machine, which is substituting for outdoor walks now that school has started and the sun rises too late for me to walk before waking up the kids.

  3. Pingback: Sunday Snippets – September 7 | Plot Line and Sinker

Leave a Reply

