Blessed, Beautiful and Bodacious Review

blessed-beautiful-and-bodacious-for-webIn a world that promotes feminism and the “my body, my choice” mantra, Pat Gohn offers us true feminism in her new book, Blessed Beautiful and Bodacious: Celebrating the Gift of Catholic Womanhood. There’s much to relate to in this beautifully written book on the dignity of women. Pat Gohn uses personal experiences, quotes from saints and encyclicals as well as her own wisdom to help women see their unique beauty and dignity.

The book is separated into three different sections: “The Blessed Dignity of Women,” “The Beautiful Gifts of Women” and “The Bodacious Mission of Women” and includes extensive “Suggested Reading and Resources.” One of my favorite chapters is “Entrusting Your Maternity to Eternity” which is full of quotes from Blessed John Paul II. The author writes about the importance of both physical and spiritual motherhood. The entire book is an inspiring read.

And who can resist a book with a title like this? Highly recommend!

Want to win a free autographed copy of this wonderful book? Leave a comment below (before Friday, September 20th) and tell me why you’d like to win “Blessed Beautiful and Bodacious!”

Copyright 2013 Ellen Gable Hrkach

14 thoughts on “Blessed, Beautiful and Bodacious Review

  1. This sounds like a wonderful book! I’d love to read it. I’m a Cradle Catholic who is finally taking an interest in patching up all those “uh, I’m not really sure” answers that I give when asked questions about the Church. I’ve been reading more and more about our beautiful faith, and as someone trying to decide if I’ll ever become a mother, maybe this is the book to answer those questions! 🙂

    Thanks for the recommendation in any case,
    Paige

  2. Pingback: Blessed, Beautiful and Bodacious Review | Catholic Canada

  3. Hello Ellen. Great review of Pat’s book. I enjoy reading memoirs and deep reflection books, and Pat has quotes from one of my favorite people, John Paul II.
    Like Paige, I have always been Catholic, but I sure could use other inspiring words to help me phrase why I like being Catholic. ~Victoria Marie Lees

  4. I would love a copy of this book because I have a teenage daughter that is being heavily influenced by the media’s portrayal of women. I pray often for her and for myself to know how to guide her into womanhood

  5. I’d LOVE to win this book because I would read it THEN pass it around to the office (Catholic Parish office here full of women), would move on to our AMAZING School staff and teachers, then we’d send it on amongst the parish ladies.

  6. Pingback: 7 Quick Takes Friday – Volume 88 | Plot Line and Sinker

  7. I just plain love the title, especially the “bodacious” part! And I do enjoy listening to Pat when she speaks.
    Carol Margetts

  8. Pingback: Sunday Snippets – September 14 | Plot Line and Sinker

  9. Married since April, my one and only sister is expecting her bundle of joy! Taking her first step to heed God’s commands to be fruitful and multiply, i would love to win this book to encourage her in her new journey as a wife and mother.

    I am particularly attracted to ‘Entrusting Your Maternity to Eternity’ of which I am sure that my sister will find that encouraging and inspiring.

    I am sure this will be the perfect gift for her to embrace her newfound vocation and mission in life. I’ll make sure to do my homework to read alongside her in order to be her cheerleader. I have no doubts it will enrich my spiritual insight as well.

    God bless and thanks for sharing the book!

Leave a Reply

