There Have Been Many!

Photo copyright Ellen Gable Hrkach

Photo copyright Ellen Gable Hrkach

This week, I’m joining up with other Catholic bloggers at RAnn’s place for Sunday Snippets where we share posts from the previous week and answer a weekly question. I’ve been swamped with so many different projects so I haven’t been able to participate recently. I’m happy to be back because I love the question of this week: Tell us about a priest (or more) who have been significant in your life. There have been many (but here are just a few).

Fr. Morley: The first priest who was significant in my life was Father Morley, who was also my first boss. While I was in 7th grade at St. Richard’s School in Philly, Father Morley approached me and asked whether I’d like to work at the rectory after school every day until 5:00 p.m. I loved the job, I loved the extra money ($3 a week) and Fr. Morley, as I recall, was a joy to work with. He told me I looked like a Kewpie Doll.

Fr. Bob: He not only helped me with my first novel, Emily’s Hope, he was a long-time supporter of and speaker at our annual Humanae Vitae BBQ. He attended for many years and spoke at length to the couples about the importance of faithfulness to the Church’s teachings on this subject of marital love and sexuality. (He eventually moved to another part of the country). He is an experienced writer who has also read most of my books and has given me honest and supportive feedback. Fr. Bob has remained our dear friend for many years.

Any Madonna House Priest: We love Madonna House priests! Whenever I go to confession with a Madonna House priest, it truly is like whispering into the ear of Jesus.

Now for the links to my few posts this past week:

Three Novels in Top Ten And all four were in the top twelve. I believe the surge in sales had something to do with a review in the National Catholic Register (thank you, Sarah!!) Print sales for A Subtle Grace were up 100 percent!

7 QT July 4 This past week, A Subtle Grace (new book) and In Name Only (O’Donovan Book 1) were #1 and #2 in BRITAIN! This was the first time they reached #1 and #2 there, so it was cool! Also included in the 7QT are a video, CALA finalists announced, Catholic Writers Conference Live and a press release about my new book.

Copyright 2014 Ellen Gable Hrkach

4 thoughts on “There Have Been Many!

  1. Glad your books are doing well. Always nice to hear about the “good guy” priests since it is the bad ones who make the news so much.

  2. There truly are so many good and faithful priests! Though they probably never even knew it, there are several who made an impact in my life and I pray for them as often as I remember. Since we moved to our current parish 7 years ago, we have been blessed with two such priests, courageous and faithful! I pray for vocations to the priesthood in our own family and in those of our friends! Congratulations Ellen on reaching #1 and 2 in Britain – that’s very exciting. May God bless you and your ministry.

  3. Thanks for sharing about the priests who impacted your life. As Ginger said, there are so many good priests and it is good to hear about them!
    Congrats on your writing successes! Awesome!

Leave a Reply

