Highlights from the 2014 Catholic Writers Conference Live!

Last week was a whirlwind of activity at the Catholic Writers Conference and Catholic Marketing Network Trade Show near Chicago. Every day was a blessing with Daily Mass, Confession, Adoration and wonderful presentations. Along with four other CWG members, I was interviewed for the EWTN show, Bookmark (with Doug Keck). This past Thursday, Fr. Frank Pavone gave us the opportunity to venerate a first class relic (blood on vestment) of St. John Paul II.

It was fun being interviewed by EWTN's Doug Keck

It was fun being interviewed by EWTN’s Doug Keck


Selfie (photo courtesy Ann Margaret Lewis) with Immaculee, Alan Napleton and myself

Selfie (photo courtesy Ann Margaret Lewis) with Immaculee, Alan Napleton and myself


Speaking to the booksellers on Tuesday

Speaking to the booksellers on Tuesday


Another shot of me speaking to the 130 or so booksellers

Another shot of me speaking to the 130 or so booksellers


Before I stepped forward to announce the CALA winners to the 600 CMN breakfast attendees (photo below), I looked at the podium and suspected I would not be able to see over it (given my four feet nine inch stature). So when Ann Lewis (conference coordinator and treasurer of CWG) and I approached the podium and I stood in front of it, all I could think to say was “Can everyone see me?” Laughter erupted from the audience and slight embarrassment (note facial expression) led to assistance from a tech person and Ann to get the microphone down. Then I stepped away from the podium and stood beside it. Subsequent speakers (including Fr. Mike Gaitley) decided to carry the humor forward and each one began their presentations with “Can you see me?” then looking my way and smiling! It was fun!
Announcing the CALA winners. The podium was too high so Ann helped me get the microphone down and stepped away from the podium so I could be seen.

Announcing the CALA winners. The podium was too high so Ann helped me get the microphone down and stepped away from the podium so I could be seen.


Presenting the CALA to Arthur Powers

Presenting the CALA to Arthur Powers

More photos later this week!

Most photos courtesy James Hrkach

4 thoughts on “Highlights from the 2014 Catholic Writers Conference Live!

  1. Pingback: 7 Quick Takes Friday – Summer Fun | Plot Line and Sinker

  2. Pingback: More Highlights from CWCL | Plot Line and Sinker

Leave a Reply

