After Miscarriage: a Book Review

After Miscarriage: A Catholic Woman’s Companion to Healing and Hope is a wonderful book by Karen Edmisten, that shares the experiences of mothers and how they dealt with miscarriage and baby loss. I contributed a story called “Eternal Gifts.”

Years ago, after suffering five miscarriages, I began writing in a journal to ease my grief. These journal entries eventually became my first published article, Five Little Souls in Heaven, and then also was the basis for my first novel, Emily’s Hope.

The author of this booklet, Karen Edmisten, also shares her own journal entries, as well as her story of losing five babies through miscarriage.

This is a deeply moving, beautiful collection of stories, poems and reflections.

Karen was also on the Among Women Podcast with Pat Gohn to speak about her book and her experience with miscarriage. She talked about miscarriage sometimes being a private pain because the couple often hasn’t yet told anyone of their news.

A few years ago, I also appeared on Among Women Podcast (Episode 89) and spoke about my experience with pregnancy loss.

For more Baby Loss Resources, please click on the link above my blog name “Baby Loss.

copyright 2014 Ellen Gable Hrkach

Leave a comment